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Safety Belt Use in 2005 ─ Use Rates in the States and Territories 
Donna Glassbrenner, Ph.D. 
 
In 2005, safety belt use in the United States ranged from 60.8 percent use in Mississippi to 95.3 percent in Hawaii.  These results are from 
probability-based observational surveys conducted by 50 States and U.S. Territories in accordance with criteria established by the National 
Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) to ensure reliable results.  Compliance with the criteria is verified annually by NHTSA’s 
National Center for Statistics and Analysis. 
 

The 2005 surveys also found the following: 
• Nine States and Territories achieved use rates of 90 percent or higher, namely Hawaii, Washington, Nevada, Arizona, Oregon, 

Michigan, California, Puerto Rico, and Maryland. 
• Nevada, Texas, and West Virginia exhibited the greatest improvement, each reducing belt nonuse by 30 percent or more during  

2004 – 2005. 
• Use rates in jurisdictions with stronger belt enforcement laws continue to exhibit generally higher use rates than those with weaker 

laws. South Carolina strengthened its belt law to a “primary” enforcement law, effective December 2005.  This State saw a jump in use 
from 65.7 percent in 2004 to 69.7 percent in 2005.  Because the 2005 survey was conducted before the primary law took effect, greater 
gains may be realized in 2006.  
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Safety Belt Use in States, U.S. Territories, and Nationwide, 1998-2005 

State or U.S. 
Territory 1 

1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 

Reduc-
tion in 
Nonuse 
2004-
2005 

Alabama 52.0% 57.9% 70.6% 79.4% 78.7% 77.4% 80.0% 81.8% 9% 

Alaska 57.0% 60.6% 61.0% 62.6% 65.8% 78.9% 76.7% 78.4% 7% 

Arizona 61.5% 71.1% 75.2% 74.4% 73.7% 86.2% 95.3% 94.2% -23% 

Arkansas 52.6% 57.2% 52.4% 54.5% 63.7% 62.8% 64.2% 68.3% 11% 

California 88.6% 89.3% 88.9% 91.1% 91.1% 91.2% 90.4% 92.5% 22% 

Colorado 66.0% 65.2% 65.1% 72.1% 73.2% 77.7% 79.3% 79.2% 0% 

Connecticut 70.1% 72.9% 76.3% 78.0% 78.0% 78.0% 82.9% 81.6% -8% 

Delaware 62.3% 64.4% 66.1% 67.3% 71.2% 74.9% 82.3% 83.8% 8% 

Dist. Of Columbia 79.6% 77.9% 82.6% 83.6% 84.6% 84.9% 87.1% 88.8% 13% 

Florida 57.2% 59.0% 64.8% 69.5% 75.1% 72.6% 76.3% 73.9% -10% 

Georgia 73.6% 74.2% 73.6% 79.0% 77.0% 84.5% 86.7% 81.6% -38% 

Hawaii 80.5% 80.3% 80.4% 82.5% 90.4% 91.8% 95.1% 95.3% 4% 

Idaho 57.3% 57.9% 58.6% 60.4% 62.9% 71.7% 74.0% 76.0% 8% 

Illinois 64.5% 65.9% 70.2% 71.4% 73.8% 80.1% 83.0% 86.0% 18% 

Indiana 61.8% 57.3% 62.1% 67.4% 72.2% 82.3% 83.4% 81.2% -13% 

Iowa 76.9% 78.0% 78.0% 80.9% 82.4% 86.8% 86.4% 85.9% -4% 

Kansas 58.7% 62.6% 61.6% 60.8% 61.3% 63.6% 68.3% 69.0% 2% 

Kentucky 54.3% 58.6% 60.0% 61.9% 62.0% 65.5% 66.0% 66.7% 2% 

Louisiana 65.6% 67.0% 68.2% 68.1% 68.6% 73.8% 75.0% 77.7% 11% 

Maine 61.3% NA NA NA NA NA 72.3% 75.8% 13%  

Maryland 82.6% 82.7% 85.0% 82.9% 85.8% 87.9% 89.0% 91.1% 19% 

Massachusetts 51.0% 52.0% 50.0% 56.0% 51.0% 61.7% 63.3% 64.8% 4% 

Michigan 69.9% 70.1% 83.5% 82.3% 82.9% 84.8% 90.5% 92.9% 25% 

Minnesota 64.2% 71.5% 73.4% 73.9% 80.1% 79.4% 82.1% 82.6% 3% 

Mississippi 58.0% 54.5% 50.4% 61.6% 62.0% 62.2% 63.2% 60.8% -7% 

Missouri 60.4% 60.8% 67.7% 67.9% 69.4% 72.9% 75.9% 77.4% 6% 

Montana 73.1% 74.0% 75.6% 76.3% 78.4% 79.5% 80.9% 80.0% -5% 

Nebraska 65.1% 67.9% 70.5% 70.2% 69.7% 76.1% 79.2% 79.2% 0% 

Nevada 76.2% 79.8% 78.5% 74.5% 74.9% 78.7% 86.6% 94.8% 61% 

New Hampshire NA NA NA NA NA 49.6% 2 NA NA   

New Jersey 63.0% 63.3% 74.2% 77.6% 80.5% 81.2% 82.0% 86.0% 22% 

New Mexico 82.6% 88.4% 86.6% 87.8% 87.6% 87.2% 89.7% 89.5% -2% 

New York 75.3% 76.1% 77.3% 80.3% 82.8% 84.6% 85.0% 85.0% 0% 

North Carolina 76.7% 78.1% 80.5% 82.7% 84.1% 86.1% 86.1% 86.7% 4% 

North Dakota 40.0% 46.7% 47.7% 57.9% 63.4% 63.7% 67.4% 76.3% 27% 

Ohio 60.6% 64.8% 65.3% 66.9% 70.3% 74.7% 74.1% 78.7% 18% 

Oklahoma 56.0% 60.7% 67.5% 67.9% 70.1% 76.7% 80.3% 83.1% 14% 

Oregon 82.6% 82.7% 83.6% 87.5% 88.2% 90.4% 92.6% 93.3% 10% 

Pennsylvania 67.8% 69.7% 70.7% 70.5% 75.7% 79.0% 81.8% 83.3% 8% 
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State or U.S. 
Territory 1 

1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 

Reduc-
tion in 
Nonuse 
2004-
2005 

Rhode Island 58.6% 67.3% 64.4% 63.2% 70.8% 74.2% 76.2% 74.7% -6% 

South Carolina 64.8% 65.2% 73.9% 69.6% 66.3% 72.8% 65.7% 69.7% 12% 

South Dakota 45.7% NA 53.4% 63.3% 64.0% 69.9% 69.4% 68.8% -2% 

Tennessee 56.7% 61.0% 59.0% 68.3% 66.7% 68.5% 72.0% 74.4% 9% 

Texas 74.4% 74.0% 76.6% 76.1% 81.1% 84.3% 83.2% 89.9% 40% 

Utah 66.7% 67.4% 75.7% 77.8% 80.1% 85.2% 85.7% 86.9% 8% 

Vermont 62.7% 69.8% 61.6% 67.4% 84.9% 82.4% 79.9% 84.7% 24% 

Virginia 73.6% 69.9% 69.9% 72.3% 70.4% 74.6% 79.9% 80.4% 2% 

Washington 79.1% 81.1% 81.6% 82.6% 92.6% 94.8% 94.2% 95.2% 17% 

West Virginia 56.5% 51.9% 49.8% 52.3% 71.6% 73.6% 75.8% 84.9% 38% 

Wisconsin 61.9% 65.1% 65.4% 68.7% 66.1% 69.8% 72.4% 73.3% 3% 

Wyoming 50.1% NA 66.8% NA 66.6% NA 70.1% NA   

Puerto Rico 78.3% 77.8% 87.0% 83.1% 90.5% 87.1% 90.1% 92.5% 24% 

Nationwide 62% - 70% 67% 71% 73% 75% 79% 80% 82% 10% 
Source: Rates in States and Territories are from surveys conducted in accordance with Section 157, Title 23, U.S. Code.  The national figures are from NHTSA's 

National Occupant Protection Use Survey. 
1 Rates in jurisdictions with primary belt enforcement during the calendar year of the survey are shaded.  However the law might not have taken effect when the 

survey was conducted.  
NA: The State or Territory did not report a rate compliant with Section 157 to NHTSA. 
2 The 2003 rate for New Hampshire was not reported by the State.  It was obtained by Preusser Research Group using methods compliant with Section 157. 
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Key Provisions of Safety Belt Use Laws 
Coverage State or U.S. 

Territory 1 
Type of 
Law 2 

Fine3 
Seats Persons Vehicles Exempted 

Alabama Primary $25  Front Ages 6+ except medical reason or 
newspaper/mail delivery 

Vehicles for > 10 passengers, model year < 1965, vehicles 
driving in reverse 

Alaska Secondary $15  All All except medical reason or newspaper/mail 
delivery 

School buses, vehicles with no safety belts, emergency 
vehicles 

Arizona Secondary $10  All in front seat & ages 5-15 in rear, except medical 
reason or mail delivery Vehicles for > 10 passengers, model year < 1972 

Arkansas Secondary $25  Front All except medical reason or rural mail delivery School, church, & public buses; model year < 1968  

California Primary $20  All All except medical reason, newspaper/rural 
mail delivery, waste/recycling collection Emergency vehicles 

Colorado Secondary $15  All All except medical reason, delivery/pickup 
services; primary law if driver < 18 

Buses, ambulances, farm tractors, husbandry vehicles, 
vehicles not required to have belts 

Connecticut Primary $37  All in front seat and 4-16 in rear, except if medical 
reason or delivery service Vehicles > 10,000 lbs, public vehicles, emergency vehicles 

Delaware Primary $25  All All except medical reason, mail delivery Tractors, off-road vehicles 
District of 
Columbia Primary $50 + 2 

points  All All except medical reason Taxis, vehicles for > 9 passengers, farm vehicles, model year 
<1966  

Florida Secondary $30  All in front seat and 6-17 in rear, except medical reason 
or newspaper delivery 

Living space of RVs, school & public buses, farm tractors, 
trash trucks, trucks > 5,000 lbs. 

Georgia Primary $15  All in front seat, and 6-17 in rear, except medical reason 
or newspaper/rural mail delivery 

Pickup trucks, off-road vehicles, vehicles for > 10 passengers, 
emergency vehicles, vehicles making frequent stops, vehicles 

in reverse, model year < 1965 

Hawaii Primary $45  All in front seat and 4-17 in rear, except medical reason Taxis, buses & school buses > 10,000 lbs, emergency 
vehicles, vehicles not required to have belts 

Idaho Secondary $10  All All, except if medical reason, all belts used, or 
mail delivery 

Vehicles > 8,000 lbs, emergency vehicles, husbandry 
vehicles  

Illinois Primary $25  All in front seat and 8-15 in rear, except medical reason 
or rural mail delivery 

Emergency vehicles, vehicles not required to have belts, 
vehicles in reverse 

Indiana Primary $25  All in front seat and 4-11 in rear, except medical reason 
or delivery service 

Pickup trucks, buses, trucks, tractors, RVs, SUVs registered as 
pickup trucks 

Iowa Primary $25  All in front seat and under 11 in rear, except medical 
reason, delivery service, or bus passenger Emergency vehicles 

Kansas Secondary $10  All in front seat and 4-14 in rear, except medical reason 
or newspaper/mail delivery  

Farm vehicles > 16,000 lbs, vehicles for >10 people, trucks > 
12,000 lbs, off-road vehicles 

Kentucky Secondary $25  All All except medical reason or mail delivery Farm vehicles > 2,000 lbs, vehicles for >10 people, trucks > 
12,000 lbs, model year < 1965 

Louisiana Primary $25-$50 All in front seat and 6-12 in rear, except medical reason 
or mail delivery 

Farm vehicles within 5 miles of farm, model year < 1981, 
vehicles for > 10 people 

Maine Secondary $25-$50 All All except medical reason or rural mail delivery Taxis, vehicles manufactured without belts 

Maryland Primary $25  Front 
outboard All except medical reason or mail delivery Taxis, vanpools, hearses, farm vehicles within 10 miles of 

farm, antique vehicles, emergency vehicles 
Massachu-

setts Secondary $25  All All except medical reason or rural mail delivery Taxis, buses, tractors, livery vehicles, trucks > 18,000 lbs, 
emergency vehicles 

Michigan Primary $25  All in front seat and 4-15 in rear, except medical reason 
or delivery service 

School buses, model year < 1965, vehicles not required to 
have belts 

Minnesota Secondary $25  All in front seat and 4-10 in rear, except medical reason, 
rural mail delivery, or when all belts used 

Farm pickup trucks; school buses; model year < 1965; 
vehicles in reverse, making frequent stops, or < 25 mph 

Mississippi Secondary $25  All in front seat and 4-10 in rear, except medical reason 
or meter reader 

Farm vehicles, ATVs, buses, trailers, vehicles for > 15 
passengers, husbandry vehicles 

Missouri Secondary $10  All in front seat and 4-15 in rear, except medical reason, 
mail delivery, or all belts used; primary law for < 16 

Farm vehicles, vehicles for >10 people or used for 
agriculture, trucks > 12,000 lbs, model year < 1968 

Montana Secondary $20  All All except medical reason or all belts used Vehicles with frequent stops, special mobile equipment 
vehicles 

Nebraska Secondary $25  All in front seat and 4-18 in rear, except medical reason 
or rural mail delivery 

Farm vehicles, buses, emergency vehicles, parade vehicles, 
model year < 1973 

Nevada Secondary $25  All All except medical reason or rural mail delivery Taxis; buses; emergency vehicles; vehicles not required to 
have belts, making frequent stops, or < 15 mph 

New 
Hampshire 

No law for 
ages 18+ $25  All Primary law for < 18 Taxis, school buses, antique vehicles, parade vehicles, 

model year < 1968 
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Coverage State or U.S. 
Territory 1 

Type of 
Law 2 

Fine3 
Seats Persons Vehicles Exempted 

New Jersey Primary $42  All in front seat and 8-17 in rear, except medical reason 
or rural mail delivery  

Vehicles manufactured before 1966, vehicles not required to 
have belts 

New Mexico Primary $25 + 2 
points All All except medical reason or rural mail delivery Vehicles > 10,000 lbs. 

New York Primary 
$50 or 
more + 
3 points 

All in front seat and < 15 in rear, except medical reason 
or rural mail delivery Taxes, non-school buses, livery vehicles 

North 
Carolina Primary $25  All in front seat and < 15 in rear, except medical reason 

or delivery service 
Commercial vehicles; farm vehicles; emergency vehicles; 

vehicles for > 11 people, making frequent stops, or < 20 mph

North Dakota Secondary $20  All in front seat and 7-17 in rear, except medical reason, 
rural mail delivery, or all belts used Farm vehicles, vehicles for > 10 people, husbandry vehicles 

Ohio Secondary $25  Front All except medical reason or newspaper/mail 
delivery None 

Oklahoma Primary $20  All in front seat and 6-12 in rear, except medical reason 
or mail delivery RVs, trucks, tractors 

Oregon Primary $94  All All except medical reason, newspaper/mail 
delivery, meter reader, or when all belts used 

Taxis, transit vehicles, trash trucks, emergency vehicles, 
vehicles for > 15 passengers or not required to have belts 

Pennsylvania Secondary $10  All in front seat and 8-17 in rear, except medical reason 
or delivery service < 15 mph Trucks > 7,000 lbs, model year < 1966 

Rhode Island Secondary $75  All All except medical reason or rural mail delivery Vehicles not required to have belts, model year < 1966
South 

Carolina Secondary $10  All All except medical reason, delivery service, or 
all belts used 

School, church, and daycare buses, public transit, 
vehicles for > 10 passengers, parade vehicles 

South 
Dakota Secondary $20  All in front seat and < 18 in rear, except medical reason 

or newspaper/mail delivery; primary law for < 18 Vehicles not required to have belts, model year < 1973

Tennessee Primary $10-$20 
All in front seat and < 16 in rear, except medical reason, 

newspaper/mail delivery, utility worker, or auto 
dealer/mechanic within 1 mile of dealership 

Public vehicles, vehicles > 8,500 lbs, parade vehicles, 
hayrides, livery vehicles, vehicles not required to have belts or 

< 15 mph between fields 

Texas Primary $25-
$200 

All in front seat and < 17 in rear, except medical reason, 
newspaper/mail delivery, or utility worker Farm vehicles, vehicles for >10 people, trucks > 15,000 lbs 

Utah Secondary $15-$45 All All except if medical reason or all belts used Vehicles not required to have belts, model year < 1966

Vermont Secondary $10  All  All except if medical reason, rural mail delivery, 
or delivery < 15 mph Taxis, buses, farm tractors, emergency vehicles 

Virginia Secondary $25  
All in front seat and < 16 in rear, except medical reason, 
newspaper/rural mail delivery, meter reader, or parking 

enforcement 

Taxis, police vehicles, vehicles for > 10 passengers, municipal 
and delivery vehicles with frequent stops 

Washington Primary $101  All All except medical reason or all belts used Farm vehicles, construction vehicles, vehicles for > 10 
passengers, commercial vehicles with frequent stops 

West Virginia Secondary $25  All in front seat and < 17 in rear, except medical reason 
or rural mail delivery Vehicles for > 10 passengers 

Wisconsin Secondary $10  All in front seat and 4-15 in rear, except medical reason, 
newspaper/rural mail delivery, or land surveyor 

Taxis, farm trucks, emergency vehicles, vehicles with frequent 
stops or not required to have belts 

Wyoming Secondary $10-$25 All All except medical reason, mail delivery, or all 
belts used Buses, emergency vehicles 

American 
Samoa Primary $25  All Ages 4+ None 

Guam Primary $50  Front All None 
N. Mariana 

Islands Primary $25  All Ages 5+ Vehicles carrying large industrial construction equipment 

Puerto Rico Primary $50  All All None 
 
1 Laws as of October 2005.  Most jurisdictions also have laws requiring that certain children be in child safety seats or booster seats.  We do not present these 

laws here.  Safety belt laws are more complex than can be conveyed in this Table, and so the reader should consult each State or Territory’s law for its exact 
coverage and penalties.   

2 Motorists in jurisdictions with primary belt enforcement laws can be stopped and ticketed simply for not using a safety belt. Under a secondary law, motorists 
can only be ticketed for belt nonuse if they have been stopped for another infraction, such as an expired license tag. 

3 The fines presented here are the fines on the ticket.  They do not include court costs and surcharges. 
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Data Source 
The data in this Research Note come from surveys conducted by States and U.S. Territories in accordance with criteria established by 
NHTSA to ensure accurate and consistent results.  These criteria were set forth in Section 157, Title 23 of the U.S. Code, and took effect 
with the 1998 survey year.  The main provision of the criteria is a requirement that the surveys observe actual traffic on the road at a set of 
sites chosen through probabilistic means.  Other major elements of the criteria are summarized below.  All 50 States, the District of 
Columbia, and Puerto Rico are eligible for the grant program administered through the Section 157 regulation.  Compliance with the 
criteria is verified annually by NHTSA’s National Center for Statistics and Analysis. 
 
Using a probability sample removes biases associated with choosing observation sites subjectively.  It also allows the computation of the 
margin of error of the use rates.  The Section 157 surveys were designed so that the margin of error on statewide use is at most 10 percent 
of the use rate.  For example, the margin of error on a use rate of 80 percent is +/- 8 percentage points. 
 
States and Territories may conduct their 2005 surveys at any time during the 2005 calendar year.  However, most of the 2005 surveys in 
this publication were conducted in June 2005, shortly after the conclusion of a nationwide media and enforcement campaign to encourage 
greater belt use.  Information on this campaign, the Click It or Ticket campaign, will appear in an upcoming NHTSA Traffic Tech 
publication and report at www.nhtsa.dot.gov. 
 
The results of the 2005 surveys in this publication are preliminary.  As allowed by the Section 157 regulation, States and Territories may 
submit revised 2005 figures before March 2006.  Results from prior survey years are final.   
 
Safety belt use nationwide reached 82 percent in 2005, as measured by NHTSA’s National Occupant Protection Use Survey (NOPUS).  
NOPUS provides NHTSA’s official measure of nationwide use because it is the only probability-based observational survey of safety belt 
use in the United States.  Additionally, NOPUS does not employ cost-saving restrictions allowed of the States and Territories in Section 
157 (namely, the omission of up to 15 percent of low population areas and the permission to observe data solely in vehicles stopped at a 
stop sign or stoplight), and so provides a better measure of nationwide use than would be obtained by combining the use rates from the 
States and Territories.  
 

Safety Belt Use Laws 
Safety belt use in the United States is regulated and enforced at the State and local levels.  The previous table presents key provisions of 
safety belt laws, which vary widely throughout the Nation in terms of vehicles covered, seating positions covered, and penalties for 
nonuse.  In addition, cities or other localities within States and Territories may have laws stricter than those in this table. 
 
Belt enforcement laws may be “primary” or “secondary.”  Under a primary belt law, motorists can be stopped and ticketed simply for 
belt nonuse.  Under secondary laws, motorists must be stopped for another infraction, such as an expired license tag, in order to be 
ticketed for belt nonuse.  In 2005, 22 States, Puerto Rico, and the District of Columbia had primary laws, 27 States had secondary laws, 
and one State (New Hampshire) effectively has no belt law, since motorists over age 17 can legally ride unbelted.  The Territories of 
American Samoa, Guam, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands also have primary laws.  South Carolina strengthened 
its belt law to a “primary” enforcement law, effective December 2005.  This State saw a jump in use from 65.7 percent in 2004 to 69.7 
percent in 2005.  The 2005 survey was conducted before the primary law took effect, and so greater gains may be realized in 2006. 
 

Improvement in Rates 
We measure improvement in safety belt use by examining the reduction in belt nonuse.  For instance, an increase from 90 percent to 95 
percent represents a 50 percent reduction in nonuse (i.e. nonuse was cut in half, from 10 percent nonuse to 5 percent nonuse).  This 
provides a better measure of improvement than a straight percentage or percentage point increase in use, since e.g., a 10-point jump in 
use is considerably easier starting at 50 percent use than at 80 percent use, because a greater percentage of belt nonusers must be 
converted to users at the 80 percent rate.  In fact, while not entirely accurate, given that a number of people use belts at some times and 
not others, it can be helpful to think of the percentage reduction in nonuse as the percent of nonusers who were “converted” to users. 
(Boyle et al., 2003) 
 
The reduction in belt nonuse during 2004-2005 is shown in the last column of the first table.  In 2005, Nevada, Texas, and West Virginia 
showed the greatest improvement, each reducing nonuse by 30 percent or more over their 2004 rates. 
 

Summary of Survey Criteria from Section 157, Title 23, U.S. Code 
Belt use rates from the States and Territories in this report are based on surveys conducted according to criteria issued in Section 157 of 
Title 23 of the United States Code.  These criteria were established as part of an occupant protection incentive grant program for the 50 
States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.  The criteria are summarized below: 
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1. Estimates must be obtained through a survey using actual observation of occupant shoulder belt use in vehicles on roadways.  

Use rates determined from secondary sources, e.g., police crash reports or use reported through telephone surveys, are not 
permitted. 
 

2. The survey must be probability-based.  Statistical procedures must be employed to select sites at which observations of 
shoulder belt use are made.  Following probability-based sampling procedures permits estimates that are “representative” of 
the use rate in the desired population and makes it possible to calculate their standard errors. 
 

3. The survey must be designed and conducted to permit estimating shoulder belt use for the following population of interest: 
• Front-seat, outboard passengers, i.e., the driver and right-front-seat passenger. 
• All passenger motor vehicles, i.e., automobiles, pickup trucks, vans, minivans, and sport utility vehicles, must be observed, 

regardless of the State (or county) of registration. 
• Observational sites in the largest geographic areas (usually counties) in the State containing at least 85 percent of the State’s 

population must be included in the sampling frame and have positive probability of selection. This criterion permits the 
exclusion of large, sparsely populated geographic areas where few observations are expected. 

• Observations must be conducted during all daylight hours and on all days of the week, and must be scheduled without 
regard to day-of-week and time-of-day (for daylight hours). 

 
4. The survey must be designed to produce an overall estimate of shoulder belt use with a relative precision (the estimated 

sampling error of the use divided by the estimated use rate) of +/- 5 percent.  This ensures that there are a sufficient number of 
observation sites and observed vehicles to produce a statistically reliable estimate. 
 

5. The survey design and results must be properly documented for evaluation of survey results by NHTSA and others and to 
determine compliance with Criteria 1-4 listed above. 
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For More Information 
This publication is part of a series of Research Notes presenting data on safety belts, motorcycle helmets, child restraints, and driver cell 
phone use.  Other publications in the series, such as “Safety Belt Use in 2005 – Overall Results,” can be found at the Web site http://www-
nrd.nhtsa.dot.gov/departments/nrd-30/ncsa/AvailInf.html. 


